Grateful American Kids

Judges Gear up for the 2021 Grateful American Book Prize

The Grateful American Book Prize is accepting submissions for 2021. The award is given annually to authors who have created outstanding works of historical fiction, or non-fiction, for seventh to ninth graders. Books published between August 1, 2020 through July 31, 2021 are eligible.

Sharon Robinson, the daughter of baseball great Jackie Robinson, was the 2020 winner for her memoir, “Child of the Dream: A Memoir of 1963” (Scholastic). The book reveals her tempestuous 13th year, living the fluctuating fortunes of the Civil Rights movement.

She received $13,000 to commemorate the original thirteen colonies, a lifetime pass to the New York Historical society and a medallion created by the American artist Clarice Smith.

“Honorable Mentions” went to “Allies” (Scholastic), an arresting book of fact and fiction about D-Day from Alan Gratz, and Larry Dane Brimner’s equally spellbinding “Accused!: The Trials of the Scottsboro Boys: Lies, Prejudice and the Fourteenth Amendment” (Calkins Press). They got medallions and $500 each.

More information and submission forms can be found on our website or by contacting:

John Grimaldi
The Grateful American Book Prize

Partners & Supporters